Proxmark3 community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Time changes and with it the technology
Proxmark3 @ discord

Users of this forum, please be aware that information stored on this site is not private.

#1 2010-04-12 00:09:35

toffe
Member
Registered: 2010-03-07
Posts: 13

hf 14a snoop out of order?

Hi guys,

I've been fiddling about with snooper.c, and figured since it was old commands in it, it was just a matter of updating it to the new command structure. However, I was wrong.

It seems

hf 14a snoop

sometimes manages to get the FPGA to output truckloads of data to the CPU, which causes it to bog down and eventually spit out "blew circular buffer!".

I brought out the oscilloscope and saw the following wave form plotting SSP_CLK + SSP_DIN from the FPGA.
Plot of SSP_CLK (A) and SSP_DIN (B)
This causes the dmaBuf array to be filled with 0xF0 faster than the CPU can process it.

Anyone got an idea of what could cause this to happen?

Last edited by toffe (2010-04-12 00:10:00)

Offline

#2 2010-05-14 15:28:11

adam@algroup.co.uk
Contributor
From: UK
Registered: 2009-05-01
Posts: 203
Website

Re: hf 14a snoop out of order?

I'm getting the same every time I run it, not just 'sometimes':

proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer! behindBy=0x191
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer! behindBy=0x191
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer! behindBy=0x191
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer! behindBy=0x191
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer! behindBy=0x191
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6

I've tried flashing with every archived version I've got, but can't find a rev that works. I guess if we can figure out what rev does work we should be able to see what's changed...

Offline

#3 2010-05-17 21:54:20

adam@algroup.co.uk
Contributor
From: UK
Registered: 2009-05-01
Posts: 203
Website

Re: hf 14a snoop out of order?

OK, this appears to be a bootrom issue. If I regress my pm3 back to the bootrom from rev 338, everything works fine (I didn't even need to re-flash the os/fpga).

Note that rev 338 just happened to be the version I had to hand and tried - there may be later versions which are also OK - I'll now try and figure out exactly which rev broke it...

Offline

#4 2010-05-18 19:05:12

Jaesik Lee
Member
Registered: 2010-04-13
Posts: 2

Re: hf 14a snoop out of order?

proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6

I also have this problem. (R442. and my system is macbook-ubuntu[no virtual machine])

Offline

#5 2010-05-28 22:09:17

moh.elsabagh
Contributor
From: Egypt
Registered: 2010-01-18
Posts: 20
Website

Re: hf 14a snoop out of order?

Any updates on that Adam? I am seriously in need for it.

I've a question btw, in the code listing, there's that condition says

if(behindBy > 400) {
  DbpString("blew circular buffer!");
  goto done;
}

Why 400 specifically?

Thanks. PLEASE keep us updated on this issue.

Offline

#6 2010-05-29 13:41:06

adam@algroup.co.uk
Contributor
From: UK
Registered: 2009-05-01
Posts: 203
Website

Re: hf 14a snoop out of order?

I doon't know why 400 specifically - I guess it's as good a number as any... smile

I haven't had time to look into this further yet, but if you need to get your sniffer back up and running, just load the bootloader from rev 338 for now.

Offline

#7 2010-05-29 14:25:00

moh.elsabagh
Contributor
From: Egypt
Registered: 2010-01-18
Posts: 20
Website

Re: hf 14a snoop out of order?

Thanks for your reply, but I don't quite know how to regress from the bootloader from the latest revision to the one from rev 338. It will be nice if you could post some instructions on that.

Thanks again.

Offline

#8 2010-05-30 12:52:03

proxcat
Contributor
Registered: 2008-11-28
Posts: 62
Website

Re: hf 14a snoop out of order?

You can build osimage.s19/elf from svn r338 the flash it onto the PM3. The bootloader and fpga image should not need to be reflashed.

Offline

#9 2010-05-30 12:58:08

moh.elsabagh
Contributor
From: Egypt
Registered: 2010-01-18
Posts: 20
Website

Re: hf 14a snoop out of order?

I tried that, but the new flasher tool doesn't work with these images anymore, and the old flasher tool doesn't detect the device since the driver has been changed.

Offline

#10 2010-06-15 12:58:02

MisterB
Member
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 4

Re: hf 14a snoop out of order?

I have the same problm

proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6
proxmark3> hf 14a snoop
#db# blew circular buffer!
#db# 191 0 0
#db# 20 0 6


I flashed the proxmark with the bootroom 338 and the os of different version but i have the same problem.

Does anyone know the solution ?

Last edited by MisterB (2010-06-15 12:58:30)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB