Proxmark3 developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-04-14 21:43:48

MRZA
Contributor
Registered: 2016-04-14
Posts: 29

Unable to flash proxmark3

Hello.
I'm trying to flash new proxmark3, but something is wrong.
First of all, I need to edit proxusb.c because my proxmark3 has different vendor and product id. Also it reboots from time to time. Is that normal?

When I run flasher I get this:

$ sudo ./flasher -b ../../bootrom/obj/bootrom.elf 
Loading ELF file '../../bootrom/obj/bootrom.elf'...
Loading usable ELF segments:
0: V 0x00100000 P 0x00100000 (0x00000200->0x00000200) [R X] @0x94
1: V 0x00200000 P 0x00100200 (0x00000b88->0x00000b88) [RWX] @0x298

Waiting for Proxmark to appear on USB....
Connected units:
	1. SN:  [001/041]
configuration set failed: could not set config 1: Connection timed out!
.
Connected units:
	1. SN:  [001/041]
configuration set failed: could not set config 1: Protocol error!
..
Connected units:
	1. SN:  [001/042]
configuration set failed: could not set config 1: Connection timed out!
.
Connected units:
	1. SN:  [001/042]
configuration set failed: could not set config 1: Protocol error!
..
Connected units:
	1. SN:  [001/043]
configuration set failed: could not set config 1: Connection timed out!
.
Connected units:
	1. SN:  [001/043]
configuration set failed: could not set config 1: Protocol error!
..
Connected units:
	1. SN:  [001/044]
configuration set failed: could not set config 1: Connection timed out!
.
Connected units:
	1. SN:  [001/044]
configuration set failed: could not set config 1: Protocol error!

On "Protocol error!" proxmark3 reboots.

But client works well:

$ ./proxmark3 /dev/ttyACM0 
#db# unknown command:: 0xffff410d          
#db# Prox/RFID mark3 RFID instrument          
#db# bootrom: svn852-suspect 2015-09-12           
#db# os: /-suspect 2015-03-09 01:08:52          
#db# HF FPGA image built on 2015/02/11 at 21:05:50          
Prox/RFID mark3 RFID instrument          
          
uC: AT91SAM7S256 Rev D          
Embedded Processor: ARM7TDMI          
Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: 256K bytes. Used: 0 bytes ( 0%). Free: 262144 bytes (100%).          
Second Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: None          
Internal SRAM Size: 64K bytes          
Architecture Identifier: AT91SAM7Sxx Series          
Nonvolatile Program Memory Type: Embedded Flash Memory          
proxmark3> hw ver
[[[ Cached information ]]]
          
Prox/RFID mark3 RFID instrument          
          
uC: AT91SAM7S256 Rev D          
Embedded Processor: ARM7TDMI          
Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: 256K bytes. Used: 0 bytes ( 0%). Free: 262144 bytes (100%).          
Second Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: None          
Internal SRAM Size: 64K bytes          
Architecture Identifier: AT91SAM7Sxx Series          
Nonvolatile Program Memory Type: Embedded Flash Memory

After 10 or twenty reboots it stops rebooting and works normally.

From information I found, I probably need older flasher/bootrom. But how old and where can I get it?
Do you have any other ideas?

Offline

#2 2016-04-15 22:12:57

MRZA
Contributor
Registered: 2016-04-14
Posts: 29

Re: Unable to flash proxmark3

I managed to flash pm3 using old flasher I got from here https://storage.googleapis.com/google-code-archive-source/v2/code.google.com/proxmark3/source-archive.zip

proxmark3> hw ver
[[[ Cached information ]]]
          
Prox/RFID mark3 RFID instrument          
bootrom: master/v2.2.0-197-gb324b02-suspect 2016-04-13 20:51:31
os: master/v2.2.0-197-gb324b02-suspect 2016-04-13 20:51:33
LF FPGA image built for 2s30vq100 on 2015/03/06 at 07:38:04
HF FPGA image built for 2s30vq100 on 2015/11/ 2 at  9: 8: 8
          
uC: AT91SAM7S256 Rev D          
Embedded Processor: ARM7TDMI          
Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: 256K bytes. Used: 186749 bytes (71%). Free: 75395 bytes (29%).          
Second Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: None          
Internal SRAM Size: 64K bytes          
Architecture Identifier: AT91SAM7Sxx Series          
Nonvolatile Program Memory Type: Embedded Flash Memory

But now I can't read mifare cards:

proxmark3> hf 14a reader
iso14443a card select failed

I tried to use newer flasher, but it didn't work. Then I noticed that there was another flasher that acted like old flasher. But reflashing didn't help

Offline

#3 2016-04-17 15:26:16

MRZA
Contributor
Registered: 2016-04-14
Posts: 29

Re: Unable to flash proxmark3

Well, I figured out that 2.0.0 and above version of firmware doesn't work, but 2.0.0-rc2 works well.

Offline

#4 2016-05-18 14:10:42

MRZA
Contributor
Registered: 2016-04-14
Posts: 29

Re: Unable to flash proxmark3

Odd behavior continues. When I plugged proxmark3 in my PC it started to reboot from time to time and I was unable to reflash it. But when I connected proxmark3 to my laptop I successfully reflashed it and it no longer reboots. But the problem with HF reader persists.  I guess I need to start new topic regarding hf reader.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB